Hacking scandal: inside Rupert Murdoch’s downfall by Michael Wolff – Comment – GQ.COM (UK)

by peterjukes

The figure who emerged at the Parliamentary hearings in July, the befuddled 80-year-old man, is the figure I recognise. There was hardly a session during our interviews in which I did not worry that Murdoch had stroked out mid-sentence. I developed a whole strategy of directing him from and through cognitive minefields – names, dates, simultaneous ideas and concepts, abstract analysis – and towards what was most immediate to him: his family, about whom he would openly dish and worry, and his newspapers, for which he had an almost idiot savant’s attention to detail.

He could range over decades and numbers (indeed, in one of our last phone calls, when he was fulminating about all that I had got wrong in my book, he corrected me on the circulation of the Daily Mirror in 1969) and recount the foibles of editors past and present.

via Hacking scandal: inside Rupert Murdoch’s downfall by Michael Wolff – Comment – GQ.COM (UK).

