Hacking scandal: inside Rupert Murdoch’s downfall by Michael Wolff – Comment – GQ.COM (UK)

by peterjukes

But not quite. I am the happenstance biographer to whom Murdoch, for reasons even the people closest to him can’t discern, gave almost 60 hours of interviews in 2008 (vastly more time than he has ever given any journalist and more time than he ever will again). Compounding this inexplicable transparency, he then opened the doors to his associates and family, such that there are practically no principals in the hacking story who I have not put under the light.

And our relationship goes deeper than that: when the book came out, I became Murdoch’s victim too. Deeply unhappy with my portrait of him, he gave the go-ahead to his American tabloid, the New York Post, to disclose details that the newspaper had somehow learned of my crumbling marriage and the relationship I had started with another woman. The Post also learned -somehow- of a dispute my wife was having with her mother which had ended up in court, with Post photographers in hot pursuit of my wife on the courthouse steps (indeed, Post photographers staked out my house and reporters pretending to be meter readers gained entrance to my girlfriend’s apartment).

In other words, it is personal.

via Hacking scandal: inside Rupert Murdoch’s downfall by Michael Wolff – Comment – GQ.COM (UK).

