Chris Bryant: Here’s why I accepted Murdoch’s offer

by peterjukes

I’ve had a barrage of emails this week about the settlement of my privacy case against the News of the World. Let me be clear. There is no confidentiality clause and all the information we garnered will go to the police investigation and the Leveson inquiry. But the rules are that if I had refused an offer from News International that the court later thought was reasonable, I could have been liable for all of News International’s legal costs – which could easily have run to hundreds of thousands of pounds, even as much as £1m.

Thursday was a milestone, though. If the admissions that NI made there end up in the criminal courts, several more people could be going to prison. So they have let us see the hem of the garment of the truth. These civil cases forced the Met and the Government’s hands. It is now for the police (against whom I still have another case) and Leveson to prove their mettle and show us the rest. We are only in Act IV, Scene 2 and I expect to be there when the curtain comes down at the end of Act V.

via Chris Bryant: Changing how capitalism works won’t be popular with everyone. But it must happen – Chris Bryant – Columnists – The Independent.

