Littlejohn on News Corp’s MSC: ‘I’d rather sell the Big Issue than take a job grassing up fellow journalists’ | The Wire | Press Gazette

by peterjukes

The then ferociously ambitious Lewis, when he was editor of the Daily Telegraph, paid £150,000 for a stolen computer disk containing details of MPs’ expenses. He was absolutely right to do so, in the public interest.

But who is to say that some of the other journalists being investigated over alleged payments to public officials were not also acting in the public interest?

They are not being afforded the opportunity to give any explanation before they are handed over to the police, arrested and hauled off to the nick.

Littlejohn added:

Greenberg famously gave up his job as a sports editor to become the official PR spiv for Chelsea’s billionaire Russian owner, Roman Abramovich, at a salary reported to be in the region of £275,000 a year. So the role of poacher-turned-game-keeper comes naturally to him.

In the interest of disclosure, I should reveal that I know Greenberg slightly. He sits near me at Spurs. But don’t expect me to defend him. I’d rather sell the Big Issue than take a job grassing up fellow journalists.

via Littlejohn on News Corp’s MSC: ‘I’d rather sell the Big Issue than take a job grassing up fellow journalists’ | The Wire | Press Gazette.

