EXCLUSIVE: anonymous phone hacking victim HJK speaks to Hacked Off | Hacking inquiry – Hacked off

by peterjukes

Even though a story was never published, HJK resigned and left the country, believing the press was never going to leave them alone. During this period of isolation and paranoia, and like many other phone hacking victims, HJK had accused friends of leaking information to the press.

HJK says: “Eventually I didn’t trust anybody. It took me a couple of months to recuperate; the stress levels were so intense. Even when I was meeting people in bars I was so suspicious. I was thinking ‘are they a part of this, are they not part of it’. It made my life hell.

“I’d been a victim and knew it was criminal – along with the destruction of my life – for six long years I was not able to say to someone ‘you did this to me, and you know what, you’re going to pay for your crimes’. It was making me incredibly angry.”

via EXCLUSIVE: anonymous phone hacking victim HJK speaks to Hacked Off | Hacking inquiry – Hacked off.

