EXCLUSIVE: anonymous phone hacking victim HJK speaks to Hacked Off | Hacking inquiry – Hacked off

by peterjukes

“It felt a bit like my neighbours had told me my house was being burgled, I’d called the police and they’d said to me ‘Yes we know, we’ve got a police officer at your house and he’s right now helping the thieves to help themselves to your furniture and loading it into their van’. The collusion and closeness between the Metropolitan Police and the press was something that really got to me. One of the things that I hope will come out of the Leveson Inquiry is that you can’t have media groups which have so much power, that’s very dangerous.”

Despite wanting to protect their anonymity and personal details, HJK says they were compelled to take action after hearing former News of the World editor Andy Coulson had been appointed as a government advisor – “If the Prime Minister had spat in my face I think it would have been less humiliating” – and that Mulcaire had taken a literary agent. “When I heard that he was about to write a book that was it. I thought ‘this is where I draw the line’.”

HJK was also disgusted by comments from John Yates, assistant commissioner of the Met, in 2009. Yates was asked to review the original phone hacking investigation into the activities of Mulcaire and journalist Clive Goodman, following allegations printed in the Guardian. He found the investigation to be “satisfactory” and suggested no further action be taken. He resigned following the escalation of the scandal last year.

via EXCLUSIVE: anonymous phone hacking victim HJK speaks to Hacked Off | Hacking inquiry – Hacked off.

