Former NoW reporter: ‘I was instructed to bribe police officers’ | Media news | Journalism.co.uk

by peterjukes

He told the inquiry he found it “quite difficult” to adjust to working “in a Sunday newspaper environment” and that in late 1983 or early 1984, “it became apparent that I wasn’t doing the job to the satisfaction to my then boss”.

“He said to me ‘you’ve got to up your game’.

“I said it’s really really difficult, I was struggling to make the adjustment and he said to me ‘well look there’s money available, you should be out there spending it on your contacts.”

Edwards told the inquiry that he could not remember “exactly how the dialogue flowed” but that in asking for clarification he was told “you need to put some inducements out there.”

via Former NoW reporter: ‘I was instructed to bribe police officers’ | Media news | Journalism.co.uk.

