Michael White’s sketch | ‘Wolfman’ Wallis hands Leveson a few tips on the press pack | Media | The Guardian

by peterjukes

Had he been pleased when his friend (protege?) John Stevens became the new Met commissioner in succession to his friend, Paul Condon? “It was the opposite of a perfect storm – a perfect sunburst.” Wallis would later ghost-write The Chief, Stevens’s NoW column.

And what about ex-anti-terrorism chief Andy Hayman, whose sideline was terrorising his expenses. Was he hard to buy a drink for? asked Robert Jay, QC for the inquiry. “I didn’t have to arm-twist him.” Did Wallis recall ever buying champagne for Hayman or for high-flier John (“an immensely impressive bloke, very clever”) Yates, both of whom have since resigned. Wallis: “I don’t like champagne.” Jay: “I’m not quite sure that was an answer to my question … you might not have drink it.” Wallis: “Not to my knowledge … I prefer a dry white wine.”

via Michael White’s sketch | ‘Wolfman’ Wallis hands Leveson a few tips on the press pack | Media | The Guardian.

