Hacking probe cost me my marriage – Tom Watson MP « Express & Star

by peterjukes

Mr Watson’s book thanks Express & Star columnist Peter Rhodes, who interviewed Mr Watson at the height of the McBride scandal and let him set the record straight.

Mr Watson said: “The most emotional week of my life was back in 2009. The Sun viciously libelled me. It remains a great sense of pride that my own paper – the Express & Star – took a different view.”

Mr Watson emerged as the leading light in exposing the scale of practices at publisher News International, which initially insisted that phone hacking was down to one “rogue reporter”.

He has spent three years working to uncover the scandal. Last year he received an apology from James Murdoch, then executive chairman of News International, after it was revealed the firm had followed him using a private detective.

via Hacking probe cost me my marriage – Tom Watson MP « Express & Star.

